Voice News

CA News 2024


Lok Sabha polls 2024, phase 3: Four Assam constituencies will vote tomorrow

Four seats of Assam will go to polls tomorrow for the third phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

The constituencies going to polls on May 7 are Guwahati, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Dhubri.

47 candidates, including one sitting MP and four sitting MLAs, are in the fray for the third phase of elections in five Lok Sabha seats.

14 candidates are contesting on Barpeta seat, while 13 candidates are contesting on Dhubri seat, 12 candidates in Kokrajhar and 8 in Guwahati.

Incumbent MP and AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal is contesting from Dhubri seat against Congress candidate and former minister Rakibul Hussain and AGP candidate Zabed Islam.

Eight times MLA and former minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury is contesting as AGP candidate from Barpeta seat against Congress candidate Deep Bayan and CPI (M) candidate and sitting MLA Manoranjan Talukdar.

UPPL candidate and sitting MLA Joyanta Basumatary is contesting from Kokrajhar seat against BPF candidate Kampa Borgoyari and Congress candidate Garjan Mashahary.

On the other hand, BJP candidate Bijuli Kalita Medhi is contesting against Congress candidate and Assam Mahila Congress president Mira Borthakur Goswami in Guwahati seat.

On May 7, over 81 lakh voters in four seats will be eligible to exercise their voting rights.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma led the BJP campaign in the last four parliamentary constituencies.

On April 29, Union Home Minister Amit Shah held a roadshow in Guwahati. The first phase of elections for five parliamentary constituencies – Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sonitpur and Kaziranga took place on April 19.

The voting percentage in the first phase of polls was 78.25 percent.

The second phase of elections in five parliamentary constituencies – Silchar, Karimganj, Diphu, Nagaon and Darrang-Udalguri was held on April 26 and the voting percentage was recorded at 81.17 percent.