Voice News

CA News 2024


Galway completes 3-in-a-row in Connacht

A last-gasp effort from Galway goalkeeper Conor Glesson gave Galway a dramatic victory in the Connacht senior football championship final over rivals Mayo at the Pearse Stadium in Salthill on Sunday as the Tribesmen won 0-16 to 0-15.

The Tribesman trailed Mayo by two points as the match expired five minutes of extra time – but they managed to find two scores to draw level – before Gleeson fired over his 47-metre clearance in the dying seconds.

Mayo had one last chance to draw, but their long-range shot for the equalizer went wide.

After being considered a bit lucky for beating Sligo in the Connacht semi-final, Galway produced a performance of real character and determination here, despite trailing Mayo for most of the match.

The win was Galway’s third consecutive Connacht SFC title – and their 50th in the province’s history.

Connacht SFC final
Galway 0-16 May 0-15

Munster SFC final
Clare 1-13 Kerry 0-23