Voice News

CA News 2024


O’Shea scores 0-9 as Kerry battle Clare for a fourth consecutive Munster SFC title

O’Shea scores 0-9 as Kerry battle Clare for a fourth consecutive Munster SFC title

May 5, 2024

Kerry’s Diarmuid O’Connor jumps over Clare’s Dermot Coughlan Β©INPHO/Ben Brady

Kerry are Munster senior football champions for the fourth year in a row after inflicting a 0-23 to 1-13 defeat on Clare at Cusack Park, Ennis.

Sean O’Shea led the score 0-9 over the course of the 70 minutes as the Kingdom took their 85th provincial crown at Clare’s home turf.

After seeing an early goal chance for Joe O’Connor squandered, the holders settled through points from O’Shea, Tony Brosnan and Paudie Clifford before eventually moving into a 0-10 to 0-7 lead during the rest.

Ciaran Downes’ free hit ensured that Clare would not be one score behind the favorites until after the break, but Jack O’Connor’s side got going again after the change of ends through David Clifford, Brosnan and Jason Foley to score a to help open a seven-point lead.

After falling nine behind, Banner’s men ensured they stayed in the fight thanks to Daniel Walsh’s point which was backed up by an Ikem Ugweru goal with seven minutes remaining. Ugweru’s goal was the result of some excellent individual work, drilling through before hitting the deck and rising again to roll the ball into Shane Murphy’s net.

Kerry responded with David Clifford earning a free in front of goal for O’Shea to tap before the latter grabbed one from play and Paul Geaney rounded off their total.

O’Connor’s players now enter Group 4 of the Sam Maguire Cup race with runners-up Monaghan and Meath, while Mark Fitzgerald’s Clare joins Ulster champions Tyrone and Cork.

Most read stories